What Brings? 2005-02-06 7:17 p.m. "There's a restlessness growing. Growing somewhere in my spirit, in my mind." She told him this as they sat, drinking hot tea with a touch of milk, two sugars. They'd met, this final time, to say their goodbye's before words failed them both. And in the end, "Goodbye" never came. It was simply a peck on the cheek, a touch of the hand, one last look....

You ask, and I'll tell... what brings, you say, a tear to my eye?

Her beauty.

Her laugh.

When I think about the other one.

When I think of the failures.

When I rejoice in the victories.

When I realize I'm part of a country where almost every major event starts with the national anthem.

When I realize I'm part of a town where EVERY event starts with the national anthem.

When I hear the song "Proud to be an American".

When I think of my friends who are over sea's, the one's who have returned, and the one who never will.

When I see a flag waiving in the clear sky.

Since that day, seeing planes flying, brings a mist so close to tears, it's almost mistaken for them.

When I remember what all 3 of my grandparents went through to get to this country.

When I think of my uncles, and one of my cousins doing thier duty to our great nation.

When I'm so tired I don't want to be a mommy any more.

When I'm so tired the only thing I want to do is hold her.

When I'm so mad at the world, at everyone that I can't think straight, and she crawls up in my arms and lays her head on my shoulder.

When I think of my dad and mom and how I never want to be like them.

When someone I barely know tells me they love my laugh, my voice, my eyes.

When I get that look.

At the end of sappy movies, or even in the middle of some Disney movies.

When I take your advice, and realize, finally that you're right. That I'm better than that. That I'm better than the woe is me attitude. That I'm beautiful, that I'm sexy, that I'm funny, that I have a great smile, stunning eyes, an incredible voice. And that I realize, now, that because of all of that, and because of your advice, I'm too fucking good for you.

When I end, what I never wanted to, because it's the right thing to do.

What Brings? �does the shoe fit you now�

Hey hey, Cinderella, what's the story all about
I got a funny feeling we missed a page or two somehow
Ohh-ohhhh, Cinderella, maybe you could help us out
Does the shoe fit you now

Through the years and the kids and the jobs
And the dreams that lost their way
Do you ever stop and wonder
Do you ever just wanna say

Hey hey, Cinderella, what's the story all about
I got a funny feeling we missed a page or two somehow
Ohh-ohhhh, Cinderella, maybe you could help us out
Does the shoe fit you now

We're older but no more the wise
We've learned the art of compromise
Sometimes we laugh, sometimes we cry
And sometimes we just break down

-- suzy bogguss --

What Brings?
2005-02-06 @ 7:17 p.m.

"There's a restlessness growing. Growing somewhere in my spirit, in my mind." She told him this as they sat, drinking hot tea with a touch of milk, two sugars. They'd met, this final time, to say their goodbye's before words failed them both. And in the end, "Goodbye" never came. It was simply a peck on the cheek, a touch of the hand, one last look....

You ask, and I'll tell... what brings, you say, a tear to my eye?

Her beauty.

Her laugh.

When I think about the other one.

When I think of the failures.

When I rejoice in the victories.

When I realize I'm part of a country where almost every major event starts with the national anthem.

When I realize I'm part of a town where EVERY event starts with the national anthem.

When I hear the song "Proud to be an American".

When I think of my friends who are over sea's, the one's who have returned, and the one who never will.

When I see a flag waiving in the clear sky.

Since that day, seeing planes flying, brings a mist so close to tears, it's almost mistaken for them.

When I remember what all 3 of my grandparents went through to get to this country.

When I think of my uncles, and one of my cousins doing thier duty to our great nation.

When I'm so tired I don't want to be a mommy any more.

When I'm so tired the only thing I want to do is hold her.

When I'm so mad at the world, at everyone that I can't think straight, and she crawls up in my arms and lays her head on my shoulder.

When I think of my dad and mom and how I never want to be like them.

When someone I barely know tells me they love my laugh, my voice, my eyes.

When I get that look.

At the end of sappy movies, or even in the middle of some Disney movies.

When I take your advice, and realize, finally that you're right. That I'm better than that. That I'm better than the woe is me attitude. That I'm beautiful, that I'm sexy, that I'm funny, that I have a great smile, stunning eyes, an incredible voice. And that I realize, now, that because of all of that, and because of your advice, I'm too fucking good for you.

When I end, what I never wanted to, because it's the right thing to do.

yesterday || tomorrow

Brief - 2007-07-05
Ketchup - 2007-06-23
- - 2006-04-03
Links - 2006-03-05
The End - 2005-10-24

all content copyright shewhowalks 2005

Navigate
today
yesterday
profile

Contact
0 comments
notes
e-mail

Extras
cast
rings
101

More
design
image
host