The house that Jack built 2004-09-30 1:50 p.m. This is the house that Jack built.

This is the cheese
That lay in the house that Jack built.

This is the rat
That ate the cheese
That lay in the house that Jack built.

This is the cat,
That killed the rat,
That ate the cheese
That lay in the house that Jack built.

This is the dog,
That worried the cat,
That killed the rat,
That ate the cheese
That lay in the house that Jack built.

This is the cow with the crumpled horn,
That tossed the dog,
That worried the cat,
That killed the rat,
That ate the cheese
That lay in the house that Jack built.

This is the maiden all forlorn,
That milked the cow with the crumpled horn,
That tossed the dog,
That worried the cat,
That killed the rat,
That ate the cheese
That lay in the house that Jack built.

This is the man all tattered and torn,
That kissed the maiden all forlorn,
That milked the cow with the crumpled horn,
That tossed the dog,
That worried the cat,
That killed the rat,
That ate the cheese
That lay in the house that Jack built.

This is the priest all shaven and shorn,
That married the man all tattered and torn,
That kissed the maiden all forlorn,
That milked the cow with the crumpled horn,
That tossed the dog,
That worried the cat,
That killed the rat,
That ate the cheese
That lay in the house that Jack built.

This is the cock that crowed in the morn,
That waked the priest all shaven and shorn,
That married the man all tattered and torn,
That kissed the maiden all forlorn,
That milked the cow with the crumpled horn,
That tossed the dog,
That worried the cat,
That killed the rat,
That ate the cheese
That lay in the house that Jack built.

This is the farmer sowing the corn,
That kept the cock that crowed in the morn,
That waked the priest all shaven and shorn,
That married the man all tattered and torn,
That kissed the maiden all forlorn,
That milked the cow with the crumpled horn,
That tossed the dog,
That worried the cat,
That killed the rat,
That ate the cheese
That lay in the house that Jack built.

Do you ever wish you could change your name?

I hear my name so many times throughout the day that I'm often glad when the people I really know use the name I prefer, or better yet, when I don't have to talk to anyone but a rare few who often call me something other than a formal name at all.

It's been one of those days where if I hear my name again, there's a good chance that I'll have to scream.

There are of course many other roads to take, but none of them work. I've tried answering in a different voice and telling the person on the other end of the line that I'm not here, and won't be returning for a long time. I've tried placing my phone on the automatic message that says "On Vacation" or "Out To Lunch" as I've been told several times that I'm constantly on both anyway. I've even gone so far as to walk into my bosses office, slam the door and tell her that I'm quitting, without so much as a notice, at which time she promptly handed me a new batch of paper work that needed to be clompleted for board reports. Nothing works. They won't even fire me for goofing off, I would take entirely too much pleasure in that, and we certainly wouldn't want an employee having any pleasure around here.

So, I sit and work and read the mindless or sometimes not so drivel of others while trying to look semi-interested in what I'm really doing.

Another day in paradise. Wendy - 2004-09-30 21:32:21
I love the House that Jack built. This old old man used to come to our school every year and read it to us. He had a great voice and I looked forward to it. Thanks for taking me back.
-------------------------------
The house that Jack built �does the shoe fit you now�

Hey hey, Cinderella, what's the story all about
I got a funny feeling we missed a page or two somehow
Ohh-ohhhh, Cinderella, maybe you could help us out
Does the shoe fit you now

Through the years and the kids and the jobs
And the dreams that lost their way
Do you ever stop and wonder
Do you ever just wanna say

Hey hey, Cinderella, what's the story all about
I got a funny feeling we missed a page or two somehow
Ohh-ohhhh, Cinderella, maybe you could help us out
Does the shoe fit you now

We're older but no more the wise
We've learned the art of compromise
Sometimes we laugh, sometimes we cry
And sometimes we just break down

-- suzy bogguss --

The house that Jack built
2004-09-30 @ 1:50 p.m.

This is the house that Jack built.

This is the cheese
That lay in the house that Jack built.

This is the rat
That ate the cheese
That lay in the house that Jack built.

This is the cat,
That killed the rat,
That ate the cheese
That lay in the house that Jack built.

This is the dog,
That worried the cat,
That killed the rat,
That ate the cheese
That lay in the house that Jack built.

This is the cow with the crumpled horn,
That tossed the dog,
That worried the cat,
That killed the rat,
That ate the cheese
That lay in the house that Jack built.

This is the maiden all forlorn,
That milked the cow with the crumpled horn,
That tossed the dog,
That worried the cat,
That killed the rat,
That ate the cheese
That lay in the house that Jack built.

This is the man all tattered and torn,
That kissed the maiden all forlorn,
That milked the cow with the crumpled horn,
That tossed the dog,
That worried the cat,
That killed the rat,
That ate the cheese
That lay in the house that Jack built.

This is the priest all shaven and shorn,
That married the man all tattered and torn,
That kissed the maiden all forlorn,
That milked the cow with the crumpled horn,
That tossed the dog,
That worried the cat,
That killed the rat,
That ate the cheese
That lay in the house that Jack built.

This is the cock that crowed in the morn,
That waked the priest all shaven and shorn,
That married the man all tattered and torn,
That kissed the maiden all forlorn,
That milked the cow with the crumpled horn,
That tossed the dog,
That worried the cat,
That killed the rat,
That ate the cheese
That lay in the house that Jack built.

This is the farmer sowing the corn,
That kept the cock that crowed in the morn,
That waked the priest all shaven and shorn,
That married the man all tattered and torn,
That kissed the maiden all forlorn,
That milked the cow with the crumpled horn,
That tossed the dog,
That worried the cat,
That killed the rat,
That ate the cheese
That lay in the house that Jack built.

Do you ever wish you could change your name?

I hear my name so many times throughout the day that I'm often glad when the people I really know use the name I prefer, or better yet, when I don't have to talk to anyone but a rare few who often call me something other than a formal name at all.

It's been one of those days where if I hear my name again, there's a good chance that I'll have to scream.

There are of course many other roads to take, but none of them work. I've tried answering in a different voice and telling the person on the other end of the line that I'm not here, and won't be returning for a long time. I've tried placing my phone on the automatic message that says "On Vacation" or "Out To Lunch" as I've been told several times that I'm constantly on both anyway. I've even gone so far as to walk into my bosses office, slam the door and tell her that I'm quitting, without so much as a notice, at which time she promptly handed me a new batch of paper work that needed to be clompleted for board reports. Nothing works. They won't even fire me for goofing off, I would take entirely too much pleasure in that, and we certainly wouldn't want an employee having any pleasure around here.

So, I sit and work and read the mindless or sometimes not so drivel of others while trying to look semi-interested in what I'm really doing.

Another day in paradise.

yesterday || tomorrow

Brief - 2007-07-05
Ketchup - 2007-06-23
- - 2006-04-03
Links - 2006-03-05
The End - 2005-10-24

all content copyright shewhowalks 2005

Navigate
today
yesterday
profile

Contact
1 comments
notes
e-mail

Extras
cast
rings
101

More
design
image
host