Tell me a Story 2004-12-02 11:20 a.m. And she says, "Take me away, then take me farther. Surround me now, and hold, hold, hold me, like holy water....

I'd forgotten all about this happening, or rather, it had been put in the back of my mind as something of the past that wasn't really important, until I read Pete's entry from November 30th, this morning. It's not that it really falls along the same lines, but it does speak to the heart, as his timely words do.

The summer of 2002, August to be exact, Emma took her first road trip. We got in the car early one morning, and drove from Texas, to Long Island, NY. It took us 2 days to get there, and was well worth every moment of it. She was an angel the entire way, and being that she was less than a year old, that's pretty surprising.

We had a wonderful vacation that year (we vacation there every year). Visiting friends and her father's family. They threw a huge wedding party for he and I since none of them were able to make it to the actual ceremony. It was incredibly kind of them, and to this day, they've never stopped being as kind and generous as they were then. Even though he and I have parted ways.

We left NY after being there for just over a week, with $1200 in cash and another almost $2000 in checks, all placed safely in his wallet. We stopped to fill up the car as we left town, and headed home. We never thought there was anything wrong in the world.

8 hours later, when were were somewhere in Pennsylvania, we needed gas. So we pulled over to a station, and when he reaced for his wallet it was gone. We searched the entire car, even took everything out of the trunk, knowing there was no way it could have been in there. Finally, I broke down and called his mom. We were going to have to go back to her house, there was no way we were going to make it to Texas on what little cash we had left.

While standing there on the payphone, a man tapped me on the shoulder, and asked if there was anything he could do to help, he said he'd seen my baby in the car, and knew something was wrong. I told him thank you, but no thank you, we've just lost all our money and will go back to where we started out. He asked how much we needed, and handed me a $50 bill. I thanked him, and turned to tell Mark's mother what had just happened and to ask her to hold on so I could get this man's address, to send the money back as soon as we got home. When I turned back to him, he was gone. No one else saw him. They never saw him walk out of the building, never saw him walk back into the station.

Later that night, we stopped to check in with Mark's mom again, and she'd found his wallet at the station we'd filled up at before we left town. Every penny was in it, every check. Not a thing was missing.

When we're in trouble, it will work out. And we have to remember that help comes in the most unlikely places some times.

I had to take back my new car this past weekend. They called to verify my employment too late, and I had already left my job, so I no longer qualified for the car. I got my old one back, and they financed it for a slightly shorter period of time, so it will be paid off a little earlier. It's going to save me a lot of money in the next 2 years.

Blessings come in all shapes and sizes, in family so distant you only see them once a year; in a strange man you never see again; in getting back something you gave up, because it wasn't good enough, and realizing that you have so much more than you could ever ask for, when you have to take it back.

Happy Holidays. warcrygirl - 2004-12-02 12:49:28
Holy cow! It's nice to know that there are still honest people left in the world, not to mention generous.
-------------------------------
Heather - 2004-12-02 12:55:17
you are so right... sometimes it takes us stepping back to realize how very fortunate we are.
-------------------------------
Des - 2004-12-02 17:10:01
That's exactly what Christmas is about to me...and it's what my mother showed me and gave to me that makes it so. It's not about what you will be getting in the ways of gifts...it's about what you can GIVE to those who need it...and sometimes just those you care about that don't neccesarily NEED it. It's about giving of yourself, your time, your love...and sometimes your financial abilities. And that's what I want to teach my son.
-------------------------------
Tell me a Story �does the shoe fit you now�

Hey hey, Cinderella, what's the story all about
I got a funny feeling we missed a page or two somehow
Ohh-ohhhh, Cinderella, maybe you could help us out
Does the shoe fit you now

Through the years and the kids and the jobs
And the dreams that lost their way
Do you ever stop and wonder
Do you ever just wanna say

Hey hey, Cinderella, what's the story all about
I got a funny feeling we missed a page or two somehow
Ohh-ohhhh, Cinderella, maybe you could help us out
Does the shoe fit you now

We're older but no more the wise
We've learned the art of compromise
Sometimes we laugh, sometimes we cry
And sometimes we just break down

-- suzy bogguss --

Tell me a Story
2004-12-02 @ 11:20 a.m.

And she says, "Take me away, then take me farther. Surround me now, and hold, hold, hold me, like holy water....

I'd forgotten all about this happening, or rather, it had been put in the back of my mind as something of the past that wasn't really important, until I read Pete's entry from November 30th, this morning. It's not that it really falls along the same lines, but it does speak to the heart, as his timely words do.

The summer of 2002, August to be exact, Emma took her first road trip. We got in the car early one morning, and drove from Texas, to Long Island, NY. It took us 2 days to get there, and was well worth every moment of it. She was an angel the entire way, and being that she was less than a year old, that's pretty surprising.

We had a wonderful vacation that year (we vacation there every year). Visiting friends and her father's family. They threw a huge wedding party for he and I since none of them were able to make it to the actual ceremony. It was incredibly kind of them, and to this day, they've never stopped being as kind and generous as they were then. Even though he and I have parted ways.

We left NY after being there for just over a week, with $1200 in cash and another almost $2000 in checks, all placed safely in his wallet. We stopped to fill up the car as we left town, and headed home. We never thought there was anything wrong in the world.

8 hours later, when were were somewhere in Pennsylvania, we needed gas. So we pulled over to a station, and when he reaced for his wallet it was gone. We searched the entire car, even took everything out of the trunk, knowing there was no way it could have been in there. Finally, I broke down and called his mom. We were going to have to go back to her house, there was no way we were going to make it to Texas on what little cash we had left.

While standing there on the payphone, a man tapped me on the shoulder, and asked if there was anything he could do to help, he said he'd seen my baby in the car, and knew something was wrong. I told him thank you, but no thank you, we've just lost all our money and will go back to where we started out. He asked how much we needed, and handed me a $50 bill. I thanked him, and turned to tell Mark's mother what had just happened and to ask her to hold on so I could get this man's address, to send the money back as soon as we got home. When I turned back to him, he was gone. No one else saw him. They never saw him walk out of the building, never saw him walk back into the station.

Later that night, we stopped to check in with Mark's mom again, and she'd found his wallet at the station we'd filled up at before we left town. Every penny was in it, every check. Not a thing was missing.

When we're in trouble, it will work out. And we have to remember that help comes in the most unlikely places some times.

I had to take back my new car this past weekend. They called to verify my employment too late, and I had already left my job, so I no longer qualified for the car. I got my old one back, and they financed it for a slightly shorter period of time, so it will be paid off a little earlier. It's going to save me a lot of money in the next 2 years.

Blessings come in all shapes and sizes, in family so distant you only see them once a year; in a strange man you never see again; in getting back something you gave up, because it wasn't good enough, and realizing that you have so much more than you could ever ask for, when you have to take it back.

Happy Holidays.

yesterday || tomorrow

Brief - 2007-07-05
Ketchup - 2007-06-23
- - 2006-04-03
Links - 2006-03-05
The End - 2005-10-24

all content copyright shewhowalks 2005

Navigate
today
yesterday
profile

Contact
3 comments
notes
e-mail

Extras
cast
rings
101

More
design
image
host