A few thoughts, and Thanksgiving Blessings 2004-11-26 12:33 p.m. And every once in a while, she calls my name out loud.....

"That's why I'm here" she said, "to see the wonderfullness in other people, all the while looking decietfully at my own."

Are you ever so lonely that you can't breathe? Is it worse, or better when you're in a crowd?

I sit a lone, many many hours of the day. And it's oddly the time when I'm most.... un-alone.

It's not that I get lost in a crowd, it's more that I feel like everyone is looking at me. Looking at me like I'm some kind of freak. I hate that.

Thanksgiving in our family is filled to the brim with tradition, and with family. This was the first year in probably almost 10 that we had dinner at my grandmother's home.

Our entire family was in town, some from Oklahoma, some from South Texas, and some even from Arkansas and Virginia. There were almost 30 people in this home, and it was somehow, not too crowded.

After dinner, which was absolutely incredible to say the least, my cousin and I were doing the dishes as is, and always has been, our responsibility after family meals, and we got to talking. I asked her when our grandmother's house had gotten so small. Her answer?

When we all got so big.

I had never looked at it that way. I had never looked at my family as something that had changed. But it has. We've all gone in different directions, different ways of life, and yet, we're still connected by my memories of being a child in this one home on Maryland street.

Since we were all together in this home so many things have happened. We've celebrated many, many birthdays. The children have had children, who've had children. We've celebrated the marriages of friends and family members. We've lost two people we love very much... first my uncle, and then less than 5 months later my brother.

So much has changed, and with it, my favorite things about my family as a whole. As a child, my favorite thing was that I had all my cousins with me, and that all my uncles were loud and annoying. After the past few years, it's occured to me what I love the most about my family...

I love the strong women in my family. I love that my grandmother is now, and always has been the one to hold us all together. I love that when she passes, that tradition will be passed to her daughters, then their daughters and then my daughter. I love that the women in my family are strong and have endured much. I love that they are funny, and loving, and very sexual creatures.

I love them all, each and every one.

I hope each and every one of you had a blessed and treasured holiday. May your lives be filled with many, many more.

~Meg


Des - 2004-11-27 03:59:13
I'm glad your Thanksgiving was so great babe. Happy Belated Thanksgiving!! Love You
-------------------------------
A few thoughts, and Thanksgiving Blessings �does the shoe fit you now�

Hey hey, Cinderella, what's the story all about
I got a funny feeling we missed a page or two somehow
Ohh-ohhhh, Cinderella, maybe you could help us out
Does the shoe fit you now

Through the years and the kids and the jobs
And the dreams that lost their way
Do you ever stop and wonder
Do you ever just wanna say

Hey hey, Cinderella, what's the story all about
I got a funny feeling we missed a page or two somehow
Ohh-ohhhh, Cinderella, maybe you could help us out
Does the shoe fit you now

We're older but no more the wise
We've learned the art of compromise
Sometimes we laugh, sometimes we cry
And sometimes we just break down

-- suzy bogguss --

A few thoughts, and Thanksgiving Blessings
2004-11-26 @ 12:33 p.m.

And every once in a while, she calls my name out loud.....

"That's why I'm here" she said, "to see the wonderfullness in other people, all the while looking decietfully at my own."

Are you ever so lonely that you can't breathe? Is it worse, or better when you're in a crowd?

I sit a lone, many many hours of the day. And it's oddly the time when I'm most.... un-alone.

It's not that I get lost in a crowd, it's more that I feel like everyone is looking at me. Looking at me like I'm some kind of freak. I hate that.

Thanksgiving in our family is filled to the brim with tradition, and with family. This was the first year in probably almost 10 that we had dinner at my grandmother's home.

Our entire family was in town, some from Oklahoma, some from South Texas, and some even from Arkansas and Virginia. There were almost 30 people in this home, and it was somehow, not too crowded.

After dinner, which was absolutely incredible to say the least, my cousin and I were doing the dishes as is, and always has been, our responsibility after family meals, and we got to talking. I asked her when our grandmother's house had gotten so small. Her answer?

When we all got so big.

I had never looked at it that way. I had never looked at my family as something that had changed. But it has. We've all gone in different directions, different ways of life, and yet, we're still connected by my memories of being a child in this one home on Maryland street.

Since we were all together in this home so many things have happened. We've celebrated many, many birthdays. The children have had children, who've had children. We've celebrated the marriages of friends and family members. We've lost two people we love very much... first my uncle, and then less than 5 months later my brother.

So much has changed, and with it, my favorite things about my family as a whole. As a child, my favorite thing was that I had all my cousins with me, and that all my uncles were loud and annoying. After the past few years, it's occured to me what I love the most about my family...

I love the strong women in my family. I love that my grandmother is now, and always has been the one to hold us all together. I love that when she passes, that tradition will be passed to her daughters, then their daughters and then my daughter. I love that the women in my family are strong and have endured much. I love that they are funny, and loving, and very sexual creatures.

I love them all, each and every one.

I hope each and every one of you had a blessed and treasured holiday. May your lives be filled with many, many more.

~Meg


yesterday || tomorrow

Brief - 2007-07-05
Ketchup - 2007-06-23
- - 2006-04-03
Links - 2006-03-05
The End - 2005-10-24

all content copyright shewhowalks 2005

Navigate
today
yesterday
profile

Contact
1 comments
notes
e-mail

Extras
cast
rings
101

More
design
image
host