Winter Wonderland 2004-11-02 10:19 a.m. It's the beatuty of simplicity, that brings me down to my knees. It�s the beauty of simplicity that fills me with eternity.

I posted an entry this morning that I'm not going to link back to, but, it mentioned hell freezing over. I got, instantly 10 emails telling me I'm "wrong". I think it's funny. It was completely a reactionary statement.

Hell has indeed frozen over as there are close to 8 inches of snow on the ground and it's still falling. My feet are wet and cold and no matter how much I try to warm them, there's simply no hope.

I'm a huge fan of winter. I complain about the snow, and about the ice, but it's not that I don't like it. I just don't.... like it. Yeah, I know, it makes no sense. I don't like the way people drive in it. I don't like the bottoms of my pants getting wet, or my feet staying cold, or the fact that I'm at work, while I'd really like to be at home, cuddled up under a heavy blanket.

But I do love the beauty of the stark whiteness that envelops this town. I love the way it's so simple in it's purity. I love the way the tress are weighed down with the heaviness, and the way all the houses look the same.

I love the way when I walk outside I can feel my cheeks grow red from the instant cold. The wind is blowing hard and pushing the snow fast around the buildings, but some how, wrapped up in my own little world I'm safe and warm.

I'm nursing my third cup of coffee, and working out lunch plans with friends. I've not achieved anything even remotely resembling work this morning, and it seems to be the running trend here. It's the first winter storm, and if tradition comes into play, it's telling a nasty tale of things to come.

Nothing warms my heart like the rememberance that God is truely in controll. Even if it's something as simple as the weather.

Stay warm darlings.

~Meg
warcrygirl - 2004-11-02 11:35:32
Snow??? Holy crap, woman, it's 76* here today. Last night we slept with the windows open and the ceiling fans on.

Brrrr!!!!!
-------------------------------
Me - 2004-11-02 11:40:42
Yeah, last week, we were in the 70's and 80's. Now, we're in the 20's and 30's. Talk about a weather change!! Such is life here!
-------------------------------
missspunk - 2004-11-02 14:28:57
I thought you were in texas? Maybe im dumb but I didnt think texas got snow. Hell I didnt even think they got cold weather. HMMMM my mistake. Heck I live wayyyyyyyy north from you and I still dont have snow. Its coming though and when it hits im never leaving home. Why I live in an area that has snow for 7 months of the year im not sure.
-------------------------------
Me - 2004-11-02 14:49:08
Complete and total missconception. Parts of Texas never get snow, and rarely get below 70*. In fact, if you go 3 hours south of here, the odds of you getting snow at all are fairly slim, you're more likely to get lots of ice and flooding rains. But here, on the caprock, we sit only 2,000 feet below Denver... which, even though it sounds like a lot, isn't. We get snow, and viciously cold winters, lots of ice. Then, most summers we get scorching heat and unbearable winds. The best of both worlds.
-------------------------------
missspunk - 2004-11-02 18:02:12
Im way way up in ontario Canada and we havent had snow yet....WOOHOO for us and our winters here are bitter cold. I just never thought of Texas as getting snow. Silly me
-------------------------------
missspunk - 2004-11-02 18:10:05
I was just curious so I found a converter that converts fahrenheit to celsius as we here in canada go by celsius......20F is -6.6C we have had that for weeks now.....It is not unlike us for it to reach -47c and -50c with the windchill which is -49f to -58f I said this just to give an indication of what our temperture really is for people who dont really know. As for snow often we can not see our houses for the snow bank infront of them....YEah we had an awful summer this year so Im planning on and even worse winter. LIke I said as soon as snow falls im not leaving the comforts of my cozy home.
-------------------------------
Winter Wonderland �does the shoe fit you now�

Hey hey, Cinderella, what's the story all about
I got a funny feeling we missed a page or two somehow
Ohh-ohhhh, Cinderella, maybe you could help us out
Does the shoe fit you now

Through the years and the kids and the jobs
And the dreams that lost their way
Do you ever stop and wonder
Do you ever just wanna say

Hey hey, Cinderella, what's the story all about
I got a funny feeling we missed a page or two somehow
Ohh-ohhhh, Cinderella, maybe you could help us out
Does the shoe fit you now

We're older but no more the wise
We've learned the art of compromise
Sometimes we laugh, sometimes we cry
And sometimes we just break down

-- suzy bogguss --

Winter Wonderland
2004-11-02 @ 10:19 a.m.

It's the beatuty of simplicity, that brings me down to my knees. It�s the beauty of simplicity that fills me with eternity.

I posted an entry this morning that I'm not going to link back to, but, it mentioned hell freezing over. I got, instantly 10 emails telling me I'm "wrong". I think it's funny. It was completely a reactionary statement.

Hell has indeed frozen over as there are close to 8 inches of snow on the ground and it's still falling. My feet are wet and cold and no matter how much I try to warm them, there's simply no hope.

I'm a huge fan of winter. I complain about the snow, and about the ice, but it's not that I don't like it. I just don't.... like it. Yeah, I know, it makes no sense. I don't like the way people drive in it. I don't like the bottoms of my pants getting wet, or my feet staying cold, or the fact that I'm at work, while I'd really like to be at home, cuddled up under a heavy blanket.

But I do love the beauty of the stark whiteness that envelops this town. I love the way it's so simple in it's purity. I love the way the tress are weighed down with the heaviness, and the way all the houses look the same.

I love the way when I walk outside I can feel my cheeks grow red from the instant cold. The wind is blowing hard and pushing the snow fast around the buildings, but some how, wrapped up in my own little world I'm safe and warm.

I'm nursing my third cup of coffee, and working out lunch plans with friends. I've not achieved anything even remotely resembling work this morning, and it seems to be the running trend here. It's the first winter storm, and if tradition comes into play, it's telling a nasty tale of things to come.

Nothing warms my heart like the rememberance that God is truely in controll. Even if it's something as simple as the weather.

Stay warm darlings.

~Meg

yesterday || tomorrow

Brief - 2007-07-05
Ketchup - 2007-06-23
- - 2006-04-03
Links - 2006-03-05
The End - 2005-10-24

all content copyright shewhowalks 2005

Navigate
today
yesterday
profile

Contact
6 comments
notes
e-mail

Extras
cast
rings
101

More
design
image
host