Sensitive Matters - Beware 2004-10-22 11:56 a.m. When I said "I love you, baby" you said "Knock on wood". I'm afraid I knocked harder than I probably should.

I�m not real happy today. I am in fact pretty angry. I can honestly say that to be attacked or to attack a person because of their opinion is one of the worst things, in my book, that someone can do. An opinion is just that. It�s what one person thinks. It doesn�t have to be an issue of right or wrong. It�s a thought, just as a thought on any other thing, situation, or person is. We all have something we think differently about; the way we raise our families, our religions, abortion, society in general; and we�re all entitled to that. To belittle someone because of the way they think or believe, or words that are said, in their place of sanctuary is out right wrong � whether you agree or not. It makes you less of a person, in everyone�s eyes. And if you want to attack me for saying go ahead. That�s right, I just called you less of a person. Am I wrong? No. Do you think I am? Yes. Probably because I don�t have the �right� to say what�s �right� and what�s �wrong�. So who in the hell gave that �right� to you?

That being said, it doesn�t take much to get along with me. I�m actually, believe it or not, a very mild mannered individual who gets along with most people. There are, however a few simple rules that need to be followed in order to stay my good graces, which is a good place to be.

So, today, at the risk of this being the longest entry, but probably the most helpful, I�m going to do two things. A.) I�m going to outline the rules for you, that way, you aren�t confused. If you, at the end of our little session have any questions, you are free to ask. And 2.) I�m going to give an outline of my day. This, is more for me than anything else, so that in a year from now when I�m freaking out about how busy I am with work, school, being a single mom, and trying to have a little �me� time, I can come back and look at how what I thought was so hectic is really so incredibly simple. I also think that this will give me a small outlet so that I can get some things in order in my pretty little head.

So, here goes.

Rules:

1.Do not in anyway talk badly of, or treat poorly, me, my friends, or my child. This is a big one with me. The people who I actually grant access into my life are there because they have earned a degree of trust that not many people do. They have not only proven to me, but to my other friends that they are not going to treat me poorly, and therefore should not be treated that way either. I am VERY protective of my friends. You pick on them, you�re picking on me. The issue of my child will be addressed in another rule.

2.Do not talk about me behind my back. I will find out. If you are stupid enough to do this, then odds are, the person you�re talking to knows better. There are few people in this world, who even consider me only an acquaintance, that don�t know this. When, not if, I find out, you will hear exactly what I have to say about not only the situation, but you. More than likely, this will be done in a room full of people you�re trying to impress.

3.Do not belittle me. I am an adult. I deserve to be treated as such. If you talk down to me, the odds of me turning and walking away without remembering a word of what you said, are very high. If I am taking the time to talk to you, then it means I�m interested in what you have to say. If I ask a question about something you�re telling me, then it�s because I have a sincere desire to know more information. If you treat me poorly for this, or as a child, then my time, and my effort have obviously been wasted on a moron.

4.Do not dictate to me. I grew up in a dictatorship, and I moved from that environment. To live that way made me a very angry person, and I don�t like to be an angry person. If you want something, or need something done, ask. I�m usually more than happy to help in anyway I can.

5.Do not waste my time. I am a busy woman. I�m a single mom. I work 50+ hours a week. I make time for my family and friends, not for peons who feel they need to see or speak to me but really have no reason to. If I find out that you have caused me to spend time on you, and you�re a complete idiot, it�s going to make me angry.


6.Do not talk badly about people to me. If I ask you about a person, or if we�re talking about issues that are current and in relative to a situation, fine. But do not seek me out to �gossip� about someone. I don�t play that game, and frankly, neither should you if you are, as I�m assuming until this point, an adult. Gossip is for 15 year old girls who have nothing better to do.

7.Do not harm my child. This is a broad subject and is why I left it for near the end of the list. You are not to at any time discipline my child unless I�ve given you consent ahead of time. You are not to hurt her in any way; physically or emotionally. Now, I will not come down on you if you have with previously said consent gotten onto my child and she cries. She wears her heart on her sleeve and I�ll take care of it. She tends to get over it just as quickly as she starts up. You are not to EVER raise a hand to her. My child has been spanked one time in her entire almost 3 years. I do not spank for every thing she does wrong. I evaluate the situation carefully, and always have a waiting time before I ever bring a paddle to my child. My child is highly opinionated and strong willed. I�ve encouraged this in her. She needs to be a strong person to make it in this world. She will not grow up letting people walk on her. She is also a highly intelligent child. If she says something to you, or your child that offends you, bring it to me. I�ll handle her. If you have a problem with this, that�s fine, we no longer need to be friends, and our children probably don�t need to be playing together, this will definitely not be the last time she offends your child and if they can�t handle it, then cutting them off is the best solution.

8.Never raise a hand.No, before you jump after I just said that I�d spanked my child one time, I did not do it with a bare hand, and never will. I have never �hit� my child. If you raise your hand in anything other than blatant self defense to me, my child, or any one of my friends you will have crossed a line. I do not believe that violence is the answer, EVER. Giving the excuse that �I�m violent because people (i.e. parents, ex�s, whatever) have been violent to me� is a cop out and I don�t want to hear it. I come from an abusive home, and an abusive marriage, but I�m not an abusive person.

There you have the eight simple rules to getting along with me.

If you have any questions, class, you�re welcome to ask.

My daily outline will have to wait until either much later today, or until Monday, as this is already much longer than I had anticipated.

Happy Friday.

~Meg
Wendy - 2004-10-22 17:44:23
Yeah, because there are lots of lunatics out there. Nice set of rules. Wouldn't life be grand if veryone abided by them?
-------------------------------
Me - 2004-10-22 17:47:41
Yeah, lots of lunatics.

That's the beauty of them being my rules. If people don't abide by them, then they don't get along with me, and I don't allow them to have an active role in my life. It's pretty simple.
-------------------------------
Incredipete - 2004-10-22 13:51:34
No one would be so pathetic that they would attack someone about their diary entry....

LOL

I like your rules...
-------------------------------
Me - 2004-10-22 13:57:55
You know, I didn't think they would, but figured I'd better "be prepared" just incase.


-------------------------------
Sensitive Matters - Beware �does the shoe fit you now�

Hey hey, Cinderella, what's the story all about
I got a funny feeling we missed a page or two somehow
Ohh-ohhhh, Cinderella, maybe you could help us out
Does the shoe fit you now

Through the years and the kids and the jobs
And the dreams that lost their way
Do you ever stop and wonder
Do you ever just wanna say

Hey hey, Cinderella, what's the story all about
I got a funny feeling we missed a page or two somehow
Ohh-ohhhh, Cinderella, maybe you could help us out
Does the shoe fit you now

We're older but no more the wise
We've learned the art of compromise
Sometimes we laugh, sometimes we cry
And sometimes we just break down

-- suzy bogguss --

Sensitive Matters - Beware
2004-10-22 @ 11:56 a.m.

When I said "I love you, baby" you said "Knock on wood". I'm afraid I knocked harder than I probably should.

I�m not real happy today. I am in fact pretty angry. I can honestly say that to be attacked or to attack a person because of their opinion is one of the worst things, in my book, that someone can do. An opinion is just that. It�s what one person thinks. It doesn�t have to be an issue of right or wrong. It�s a thought, just as a thought on any other thing, situation, or person is. We all have something we think differently about; the way we raise our families, our religions, abortion, society in general; and we�re all entitled to that. To belittle someone because of the way they think or believe, or words that are said, in their place of sanctuary is out right wrong � whether you agree or not. It makes you less of a person, in everyone�s eyes. And if you want to attack me for saying go ahead. That�s right, I just called you less of a person. Am I wrong? No. Do you think I am? Yes. Probably because I don�t have the �right� to say what�s �right� and what�s �wrong�. So who in the hell gave that �right� to you?

That being said, it doesn�t take much to get along with me. I�m actually, believe it or not, a very mild mannered individual who gets along with most people. There are, however a few simple rules that need to be followed in order to stay my good graces, which is a good place to be.

So, today, at the risk of this being the longest entry, but probably the most helpful, I�m going to do two things. A.) I�m going to outline the rules for you, that way, you aren�t confused. If you, at the end of our little session have any questions, you are free to ask. And 2.) I�m going to give an outline of my day. This, is more for me than anything else, so that in a year from now when I�m freaking out about how busy I am with work, school, being a single mom, and trying to have a little �me� time, I can come back and look at how what I thought was so hectic is really so incredibly simple. I also think that this will give me a small outlet so that I can get some things in order in my pretty little head.

So, here goes.

Rules:

1.Do not in anyway talk badly of, or treat poorly, me, my friends, or my child. This is a big one with me. The people who I actually grant access into my life are there because they have earned a degree of trust that not many people do. They have not only proven to me, but to my other friends that they are not going to treat me poorly, and therefore should not be treated that way either. I am VERY protective of my friends. You pick on them, you�re picking on me. The issue of my child will be addressed in another rule.

2.Do not talk about me behind my back. I will find out. If you are stupid enough to do this, then odds are, the person you�re talking to knows better. There are few people in this world, who even consider me only an acquaintance, that don�t know this. When, not if, I find out, you will hear exactly what I have to say about not only the situation, but you. More than likely, this will be done in a room full of people you�re trying to impress.

3.Do not belittle me. I am an adult. I deserve to be treated as such. If you talk down to me, the odds of me turning and walking away without remembering a word of what you said, are very high. If I am taking the time to talk to you, then it means I�m interested in what you have to say. If I ask a question about something you�re telling me, then it�s because I have a sincere desire to know more information. If you treat me poorly for this, or as a child, then my time, and my effort have obviously been wasted on a moron.

4.Do not dictate to me. I grew up in a dictatorship, and I moved from that environment. To live that way made me a very angry person, and I don�t like to be an angry person. If you want something, or need something done, ask. I�m usually more than happy to help in anyway I can.

5.Do not waste my time. I am a busy woman. I�m a single mom. I work 50+ hours a week. I make time for my family and friends, not for peons who feel they need to see or speak to me but really have no reason to. If I find out that you have caused me to spend time on you, and you�re a complete idiot, it�s going to make me angry.


6.Do not talk badly about people to me. If I ask you about a person, or if we�re talking about issues that are current and in relative to a situation, fine. But do not seek me out to �gossip� about someone. I don�t play that game, and frankly, neither should you if you are, as I�m assuming until this point, an adult. Gossip is for 15 year old girls who have nothing better to do.

7.Do not harm my child. This is a broad subject and is why I left it for near the end of the list. You are not to at any time discipline my child unless I�ve given you consent ahead of time. You are not to hurt her in any way; physically or emotionally. Now, I will not come down on you if you have with previously said consent gotten onto my child and she cries. She wears her heart on her sleeve and I�ll take care of it. She tends to get over it just as quickly as she starts up. You are not to EVER raise a hand to her. My child has been spanked one time in her entire almost 3 years. I do not spank for every thing she does wrong. I evaluate the situation carefully, and always have a waiting time before I ever bring a paddle to my child. My child is highly opinionated and strong willed. I�ve encouraged this in her. She needs to be a strong person to make it in this world. She will not grow up letting people walk on her. She is also a highly intelligent child. If she says something to you, or your child that offends you, bring it to me. I�ll handle her. If you have a problem with this, that�s fine, we no longer need to be friends, and our children probably don�t need to be playing together, this will definitely not be the last time she offends your child and if they can�t handle it, then cutting them off is the best solution.

8.Never raise a hand.No, before you jump after I just said that I�d spanked my child one time, I did not do it with a bare hand, and never will. I have never �hit� my child. If you raise your hand in anything other than blatant self defense to me, my child, or any one of my friends you will have crossed a line. I do not believe that violence is the answer, EVER. Giving the excuse that �I�m violent because people (i.e. parents, ex�s, whatever) have been violent to me� is a cop out and I don�t want to hear it. I come from an abusive home, and an abusive marriage, but I�m not an abusive person.

There you have the eight simple rules to getting along with me.

If you have any questions, class, you�re welcome to ask.

My daily outline will have to wait until either much later today, or until Monday, as this is already much longer than I had anticipated.

Happy Friday.

~Meg

yesterday || tomorrow

Brief - 2007-07-05
Ketchup - 2007-06-23
- - 2006-04-03
Links - 2006-03-05
The End - 2005-10-24

all content copyright shewhowalks 2005

Navigate
today
yesterday
profile

Contact
4 comments
notes
e-mail

Extras
cast
rings
101

More
design
image
host