Lara 2004-08-04 10:18 a.m. It always seems funny to me how life presents it's self in odd forms.

I've been feeling very lonely, to the point of crying when Emma finally falls asleep because after that, I have no one.

It's been rememdied in a way this week, and I'm feeling a new sense of self.

Lara and I were best friends in high school. We were inseperable, and spent more than our share of nights, skipping class, and cramming for finals. We had big plans to go to the same college, to get married and have children close to the same time so they could be best friends. You know, the same dreams most teenage girls have with their best friends.

Things took a shadowy turn at the end of our senior year, when Lara met Jerry.

Jerry was 10 years her senior, an alcoholic and incredibly manipulative man. None of us had seen this at first, she'd met him through a mutual friend we all knew and trusted, and that seemed to make it okay.

Later that summer I started to realize what kind of a person Jerry really was. I didn't like at all the way I felt when around him and tried to talk to Lara, but she was set in what she felt. We got into a heated argument late one night, and that was the last we spoke.

Several months later I found out from an aquaintance that she'd married him, and I knew that we'd never be friends again. She hated me for disliking him.

This past December I ran into Lara at Toys'R'Us. She told me that she and Jerry had divorced. I didn't ask why, I didn't want to know the details at the time. She asked for my phone number, and said she'd call me. I never heard from her, blew it off as her being polite in asking, but not really have a desire to rekindle frienships.

Night before last I came home to a message from Lara. She simply asked me to call her, and I did. We spoke briefly as Emma played with a bottle of bubbles on the front porch, and I laughed at her making a mess.

Last night she called again, just past 10pm. When I finally hung up and fell into bed it was 2 am. 4 hours of talking, laughing, crying and sharing stories brought my sister back to me.

She's remarried. A guy we went to high school with, someone as odd as Cole, the last person I'd have seen her with. She's expecting a baby in December, and our children will be close in age, sharing a birth month, and hopefully great friends.

She'll be moving home at the end of the month, as her new husband is in the Navy and being deployed to Saudi Arabia, he won't be home in time for her to have the baby, and she wants to be with friends and family.

I can't wait.......

P.S. Cole told me he loved me last night, and it felt so good. Lara �does the shoe fit you now�

Hey hey, Cinderella, what's the story all about
I got a funny feeling we missed a page or two somehow
Ohh-ohhhh, Cinderella, maybe you could help us out
Does the shoe fit you now

Through the years and the kids and the jobs
And the dreams that lost their way
Do you ever stop and wonder
Do you ever just wanna say

Hey hey, Cinderella, what's the story all about
I got a funny feeling we missed a page or two somehow
Ohh-ohhhh, Cinderella, maybe you could help us out
Does the shoe fit you now

We're older but no more the wise
We've learned the art of compromise
Sometimes we laugh, sometimes we cry
And sometimes we just break down

-- suzy bogguss --

Lara
2004-08-04 @ 10:18 a.m.

It always seems funny to me how life presents it's self in odd forms.

I've been feeling very lonely, to the point of crying when Emma finally falls asleep because after that, I have no one.

It's been rememdied in a way this week, and I'm feeling a new sense of self.

Lara and I were best friends in high school. We were inseperable, and spent more than our share of nights, skipping class, and cramming for finals. We had big plans to go to the same college, to get married and have children close to the same time so they could be best friends. You know, the same dreams most teenage girls have with their best friends.

Things took a shadowy turn at the end of our senior year, when Lara met Jerry.

Jerry was 10 years her senior, an alcoholic and incredibly manipulative man. None of us had seen this at first, she'd met him through a mutual friend we all knew and trusted, and that seemed to make it okay.

Later that summer I started to realize what kind of a person Jerry really was. I didn't like at all the way I felt when around him and tried to talk to Lara, but she was set in what she felt. We got into a heated argument late one night, and that was the last we spoke.

Several months later I found out from an aquaintance that she'd married him, and I knew that we'd never be friends again. She hated me for disliking him.

This past December I ran into Lara at Toys'R'Us. She told me that she and Jerry had divorced. I didn't ask why, I didn't want to know the details at the time. She asked for my phone number, and said she'd call me. I never heard from her, blew it off as her being polite in asking, but not really have a desire to rekindle frienships.

Night before last I came home to a message from Lara. She simply asked me to call her, and I did. We spoke briefly as Emma played with a bottle of bubbles on the front porch, and I laughed at her making a mess.

Last night she called again, just past 10pm. When I finally hung up and fell into bed it was 2 am. 4 hours of talking, laughing, crying and sharing stories brought my sister back to me.

She's remarried. A guy we went to high school with, someone as odd as Cole, the last person I'd have seen her with. She's expecting a baby in December, and our children will be close in age, sharing a birth month, and hopefully great friends.

She'll be moving home at the end of the month, as her new husband is in the Navy and being deployed to Saudi Arabia, he won't be home in time for her to have the baby, and she wants to be with friends and family.

I can't wait.......

P.S. Cole told me he loved me last night, and it felt so good.

yesterday || tomorrow

Brief - 2007-07-05
Ketchup - 2007-06-23
- - 2006-04-03
Links - 2006-03-05
The End - 2005-10-24

all content copyright shewhowalks 2005

Navigate
today
yesterday
profile

Contact
0 comments
notes
e-mail

Extras
cast
rings
101

More
design
image
host