Drowning 2004-07-19 10:02 a.m. A few people have asked, in private, what N. meant about me drowning in the lake. I can't, honestly, remember if I've told you previously or not, so I'll tell you today.

It's my very first memory, a vision that haunts me still, almost twenty years later. Some have said that surely I have previous memories, many people can remember things from as early as the age of two. But I know, with all certainty, I do not.

It was a chilly day in the Texas panhandle, the weather caught inbetween winter and spring. My parents had decided that it would be a good idea to get some fresh air, to get outside after a long winter.

Lake Greenbelt was, and still is, a favorite destination of theirs, and this day was no different. They set out their blankets, their sandwiches and their drinks of choice - vodka and rum.

I remember telling my mother that I was going to take a walk, and her not saying anything in reply, so I walked away. I remember seeing a little fish, and taking a stick to poke at it, possibly trying to imitate a movie I'd seen where they speared fish to eat. My little fish swam quickly away and I followed, right into the cold water. I remember hearing my parents laughter floating up to me, I remember the water feeling mucky under my feet. I remember how brown it was underthere, that I couldn't see anything, that I could hold my breath anylonger but knew that I couldn't take one under there. I remember my feet sinking deeper into the mud, and the only thing I knew to do was raise my hand up as far as I could.

That's the last thing I remember until N pulled me out.

To this day I've never seen my parents worry about anything. Even then, I got in trouble for wandering off, rather than them feeling badly for letting me go.

It's funny really, I knew, in that moment, that I would be different from the rest of my family. That N and I would have a bond for life.

That we, were so much better than they were, and still are.

Welcome to the warped way of me....... Drowning �does the shoe fit you now�

Hey hey, Cinderella, what's the story all about
I got a funny feeling we missed a page or two somehow
Ohh-ohhhh, Cinderella, maybe you could help us out
Does the shoe fit you now

Through the years and the kids and the jobs
And the dreams that lost their way
Do you ever stop and wonder
Do you ever just wanna say

Hey hey, Cinderella, what's the story all about
I got a funny feeling we missed a page or two somehow
Ohh-ohhhh, Cinderella, maybe you could help us out
Does the shoe fit you now

We're older but no more the wise
We've learned the art of compromise
Sometimes we laugh, sometimes we cry
And sometimes we just break down

-- suzy bogguss --

Drowning
2004-07-19 @ 10:02 a.m.

A few people have asked, in private, what N. meant about me drowning in the lake. I can't, honestly, remember if I've told you previously or not, so I'll tell you today.

It's my very first memory, a vision that haunts me still, almost twenty years later. Some have said that surely I have previous memories, many people can remember things from as early as the age of two. But I know, with all certainty, I do not.

It was a chilly day in the Texas panhandle, the weather caught inbetween winter and spring. My parents had decided that it would be a good idea to get some fresh air, to get outside after a long winter.

Lake Greenbelt was, and still is, a favorite destination of theirs, and this day was no different. They set out their blankets, their sandwiches and their drinks of choice - vodka and rum.

I remember telling my mother that I was going to take a walk, and her not saying anything in reply, so I walked away. I remember seeing a little fish, and taking a stick to poke at it, possibly trying to imitate a movie I'd seen where they speared fish to eat. My little fish swam quickly away and I followed, right into the cold water. I remember hearing my parents laughter floating up to me, I remember the water feeling mucky under my feet. I remember how brown it was underthere, that I couldn't see anything, that I could hold my breath anylonger but knew that I couldn't take one under there. I remember my feet sinking deeper into the mud, and the only thing I knew to do was raise my hand up as far as I could.

That's the last thing I remember until N pulled me out.

To this day I've never seen my parents worry about anything. Even then, I got in trouble for wandering off, rather than them feeling badly for letting me go.

It's funny really, I knew, in that moment, that I would be different from the rest of my family. That N and I would have a bond for life.

That we, were so much better than they were, and still are.

Welcome to the warped way of me.......

yesterday || tomorrow

Brief - 2007-07-05
Ketchup - 2007-06-23
- - 2006-04-03
Links - 2006-03-05
The End - 2005-10-24

all content copyright shewhowalks 2005

Navigate
today
yesterday
profile

Contact
0 comments
notes
e-mail

Extras
cast
rings
101

More
design
image
host