The 4th on the 5th 2004-07-05 9:55 a.m. Have you ever asked me what my favorite holiday is? You'd think it was Christmas, or Easter maybe, possibly even Valentines day. But it's not, it's the Fourth of July. Hands down.

There are three years that stand out in my mind, that I remember so vividly I can recall them at any moment in complete clarity.

The first is the summer after the eighth grade. David and I were "dating" and were spending the Fourth with my family. We left a cookout at my grandmothers house to go sit and watch the fireworks. I remember what I was wearing, I remember the conversations we had. I remember it all.

The second was the summer after my senior year. I remember being at River Road park and laying in the middle of the baseball field with Lara and Jerry. It was still early, the sky still bright. I remember the way the smell of the dirt road and dirt field mixed with the random fireworks going off in the park. It was a lazy day with good friends. My grandmother passed way the next day. That was four years ago. Today is the four year anniversary of her death.

The final is and was, last night. Emma and I went to David's house. He lives accross the street from where they were having the fireworks show this year and we figured that would be the place to be. His patio looks right out over the park, so if we wanted we could just stand out there and watch. We ended up sitting on the grass outside the patio with almost everyone else that lived in the appartments. As the fireworks started with their beautiful colors, Emma stood up and started laughing and clapping. It was a beautiful show. When it was over, we went inside to Davids house and he and Emma played "Chase me 'round the table David!!" for about half an hour then it was decided that we'd better leave. I don't have to work today, but David had an early morning ahead of him. He walked us out to our car, carrying Emma. We put her in her seat and buckeled her in, rolled down her window so she'd have some nice cool air, and sat and talked for a few minutes. She fell asleep within about five minutes and he and I ended up talking for about an hour or so outside my car. It was a good talk. He was more honest than he has been in a long time. It's his honesty I love, when he's this way, rather than being bitter and angry, I fall in love with him. Times when he's this honest he lets me love him, he lets me be gentle with him, he lets me in.

I could go on for days, but you'd get more bored than you already are. I had a whole patriotic entry lined up for yesterday, but never got a chance to write it. Maybe later.

Until then, have a wonderful day. Emma and I are going to hang out together today. I can't wait....... The 4th on the 5th �does the shoe fit you now�

Hey hey, Cinderella, what's the story all about
I got a funny feeling we missed a page or two somehow
Ohh-ohhhh, Cinderella, maybe you could help us out
Does the shoe fit you now

Through the years and the kids and the jobs
And the dreams that lost their way
Do you ever stop and wonder
Do you ever just wanna say

Hey hey, Cinderella, what's the story all about
I got a funny feeling we missed a page or two somehow
Ohh-ohhhh, Cinderella, maybe you could help us out
Does the shoe fit you now

We're older but no more the wise
We've learned the art of compromise
Sometimes we laugh, sometimes we cry
And sometimes we just break down

-- suzy bogguss --

The 4th on the 5th
2004-07-05 @ 9:55 a.m.

Have you ever asked me what my favorite holiday is? You'd think it was Christmas, or Easter maybe, possibly even Valentines day. But it's not, it's the Fourth of July. Hands down.

There are three years that stand out in my mind, that I remember so vividly I can recall them at any moment in complete clarity.

The first is the summer after the eighth grade. David and I were "dating" and were spending the Fourth with my family. We left a cookout at my grandmothers house to go sit and watch the fireworks. I remember what I was wearing, I remember the conversations we had. I remember it all.

The second was the summer after my senior year. I remember being at River Road park and laying in the middle of the baseball field with Lara and Jerry. It was still early, the sky still bright. I remember the way the smell of the dirt road and dirt field mixed with the random fireworks going off in the park. It was a lazy day with good friends. My grandmother passed way the next day. That was four years ago. Today is the four year anniversary of her death.

The final is and was, last night. Emma and I went to David's house. He lives accross the street from where they were having the fireworks show this year and we figured that would be the place to be. His patio looks right out over the park, so if we wanted we could just stand out there and watch. We ended up sitting on the grass outside the patio with almost everyone else that lived in the appartments. As the fireworks started with their beautiful colors, Emma stood up and started laughing and clapping. It was a beautiful show. When it was over, we went inside to Davids house and he and Emma played "Chase me 'round the table David!!" for about half an hour then it was decided that we'd better leave. I don't have to work today, but David had an early morning ahead of him. He walked us out to our car, carrying Emma. We put her in her seat and buckeled her in, rolled down her window so she'd have some nice cool air, and sat and talked for a few minutes. She fell asleep within about five minutes and he and I ended up talking for about an hour or so outside my car. It was a good talk. He was more honest than he has been in a long time. It's his honesty I love, when he's this way, rather than being bitter and angry, I fall in love with him. Times when he's this honest he lets me love him, he lets me be gentle with him, he lets me in.

I could go on for days, but you'd get more bored than you already are. I had a whole patriotic entry lined up for yesterday, but never got a chance to write it. Maybe later.

Until then, have a wonderful day. Emma and I are going to hang out together today. I can't wait.......

yesterday || tomorrow

Brief - 2007-07-05
Ketchup - 2007-06-23
- - 2006-04-03
Links - 2006-03-05
The End - 2005-10-24

all content copyright shewhowalks 2005

Navigate
today
yesterday
profile

Contact
0 comments
notes
e-mail

Extras
cast
rings
101

More
design
image
host