Growing Up 2004-07-07 4:19 p.m. I'm 5 years old, sitting on the school bus, singing to myself a song I know from another life. I wonder, when did I learn to walk, to talk to sing? When did I grow up?

I'm 10 years old, riding my bike down the street. Yelling to my friends to wait up. I wonder, when did I learn to run, to laugh, to ride a bike? When did I grow up?

I'm 15 years old, begging my mom to wear makeup that's much too old for me, to cover the pimples I only imagine I have. I wonder, when did I learn to whine, to beg, to plead? When did I grow up?

I'm 20 years old, living in a far and distant land, alone. Living with a person I've never met until now, and raising their children while trying to find my place. I wonder, when did I learn independance, freedom, stregnth? When did I grow up?

I'm 22 years old, living alone with my beautiful daughter, in a too small appartment, with cozy walls and a little kitchenette. I wonder, when will I have time to sing, to ride a bike, to put on make up, to be free?

When did I grow up? Growing Up �does the shoe fit you now�

Hey hey, Cinderella, what's the story all about
I got a funny feeling we missed a page or two somehow
Ohh-ohhhh, Cinderella, maybe you could help us out
Does the shoe fit you now

Through the years and the kids and the jobs
And the dreams that lost their way
Do you ever stop and wonder
Do you ever just wanna say

Hey hey, Cinderella, what's the story all about
I got a funny feeling we missed a page or two somehow
Ohh-ohhhh, Cinderella, maybe you could help us out
Does the shoe fit you now

We're older but no more the wise
We've learned the art of compromise
Sometimes we laugh, sometimes we cry
And sometimes we just break down

-- suzy bogguss --

Growing Up
2004-07-07 @ 4:19 p.m.

I'm 5 years old, sitting on the school bus, singing to myself a song I know from another life. I wonder, when did I learn to walk, to talk to sing? When did I grow up?

I'm 10 years old, riding my bike down the street. Yelling to my friends to wait up. I wonder, when did I learn to run, to laugh, to ride a bike? When did I grow up?

I'm 15 years old, begging my mom to wear makeup that's much too old for me, to cover the pimples I only imagine I have. I wonder, when did I learn to whine, to beg, to plead? When did I grow up?

I'm 20 years old, living in a far and distant land, alone. Living with a person I've never met until now, and raising their children while trying to find my place. I wonder, when did I learn independance, freedom, stregnth? When did I grow up?

I'm 22 years old, living alone with my beautiful daughter, in a too small appartment, with cozy walls and a little kitchenette. I wonder, when will I have time to sing, to ride a bike, to put on make up, to be free?

When did I grow up?

yesterday || tomorrow

Brief - 2007-07-05
Ketchup - 2007-06-23
- - 2006-04-03
Links - 2006-03-05
The End - 2005-10-24

all content copyright shewhowalks 2005

Navigate
today
yesterday
profile

Contact
0 comments
notes
e-mail

Extras
cast
rings
101

More
design
image
host